© 2019 Gillian McDunn. Designed by FiveTwentyEight, LLC

Available wherever books are sold

"An engaging, honest book.

I loved Cat and you will too!"

—Kimberly Brubaker Bradley,

Newbery Honor-winning author of

The War That Saved My Life

“I could almost smell the ocean air...What a beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up.”

—Kate Messner, author of Breakout and The Seventh Wish

This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget. 

Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond--Cat is one of the few people who can keep Chicken happy. When he has a "meltdown" she's the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She's the one who knows what Chicken needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat has been the glue holding her family together. 

 

But even the strongest glue sometimes struggles to hold. When a summer trip doesn't go according to plan, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they never knew. For the first time in years, Cat has the opportunity to be a kid again. The journey she takes shows that even the most broken or strained relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another's shoes.

Age range: 8-13

Grade level: 3-8

Hardcover: 304 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

ISBN-10: 168119743X

ISBN-13: 978-1681197432

An Indies Introduce selection for Winter/Spring and Kids Indie Next Top Ten for Spring 2019

Kirkus, starred review

Publishers Weekly, starred review

A Junior Library Guild selection

A Spring Okra Pick

Parents Magazine Top Books of 2019

Texas Bluebonnet Award 2020-2021 Master List

Google Books Logo
Target logo.png
Quail Ridge logo_edited_edited.png